Chess Set (crits please) :)

Hi :smiley: I’m relatively new to blender, i have used other 3d programs before but with less functionality.
This is a part of my first main scene that i will make in blender, and i was looking for ideas/suggestions about how i could improve the model or the textures on it. Thanks :stuck_out_tongue:

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/1027/chess27mx.jpg

Welcome, DanC to elysiun! Very nice first post! I like the board’s design. Was it fashioned after one you’ve seen, or is it your own design? The wood grain texture is very nice, but it’d be good to see “end grain” on one edge. I’d love to see an AO-only render of this scene: put in a world texture, turn its brightness & contrast all the way up, turn off all your lamps (move them to an “off” layer), then turn on AO with highest sample settings - just to see what you get. Alternately a render with yafray with an HDRI would be a treat to see! Good work as is, tho! Look forward to more from ya…

Good model.
-area light for soft shadow or Yafray GI+ 1 master spot light.
-use HDRI map for mirror.
-maybe DOF (Zblur or Yafray DOF)

Nice work, looks really good. Just a few things I see that are odd to me. Why is the board cut past the black/white tiles? Doesn’t serve a purpose, at least not one I can see. Might also want to think about beveling the edge of the bottom of the board, too sharp atm. I can’t get too good a look at each of the pieces but the “knight” and “bishop” I think still need a little work. The Bishop seems too much like the pawns, only slightly elongated head, on my chess sets that I’ve had over the years, there has always been a slit in the front angling in towards the center of the head. The Knight’s horse head didn’t look right, but as I said, I can’t see it very well in the linked image. Would it be possible to see the individual peices? Over all though your there, just some lighting stuff as the others have said and your good to go. B)

[edit]