(CHEWS) Gun for movie and trailer. First model no excuse to be mediocre

I am working on my first gun for a project and need helpful feed back as wells a pointer on how to texture. (Please give methods relevant to this gun.)

Attachments

I think green is a good option. Non-reflective ofcourse.

Show some wireframes. Plus Whyare you not using a sub surface modifier? are you going for the lowpoly game look in a movie? look at the shoulder rest of your model imagine that kind of look at 1080p in a close up shot its not going to be pretty.

No I am not going for a low poly model and can you explain the sub surface modifier and how I would apply it? I am new to modeling and this is my first. Also would you like wire frame shots with it in our out of edit mode as it displays differently? I would post the .blend also but its to big :frowning:

Here is the wire-frames.

Holy kleenex batman. I hope those high poly images have a subsurf modifier applied, because that’s an unnecessary amount of geometry for such a “low poly” render.

If not, here’s a link to the wiki on the subsurf modifier: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Modifiers/Mesh/Subsurf.

lol no sub surf modifier and the render was default settings. I am aiming for production quality model and I am asking for help on my first model so it has that sort of quality. Thanks for th link I will check it out. can I have the link to the 2.56 one?

Work with a low number of polygons and use the subsurf modifier to add more levels. It will make it easier to make changes to the model in the future.

well the clip has it, I took the clip from my 3d max friend who loved turbo smooth. The rest is just subdivided as I felt I needed more control. also I only want to affect certain parts the part with the screen indent is meant to have sharp edges. So do I face select apply the modifier and screw setting setting till its how I want? or is there a science?