Chinese lamp - ugly model

Hi guys!

I am new to Blender and am currently working on the model of a chinese lamp (picture of lamp included as attachment).

Currently I’m busy with the wooden frame that’s supposed to give the lamp a chinese look and the solid frame looks good, I find (see lamp_solid.jpg).

But the wireframe (lamp_wireframe.jpg) is ugly. Is it normal to have that many edges in a mesh or is there a more cleaner way to do it?

I have tried booleans but my mesh, as it seems, is not a closed mesh so I couldn’t do a boolean to obtain the frame so I had to resort to creating every face myself (thank god for the F-key :D).

Again, is there a cleaner/better way to do this?

I hope you can see where I’m going

Thanks in advance!

Peter

Attachments

Ah that got my interest, it reminded me of a photo I took at changdukgong palace in Seoul :). Anyway for a start, it might end up being more manageable if instead of bringing all those corner edges, you continued the loop through, in a grid-like arrangement. This took me about 2 minutes, and would be much easier to manipulate with loops select etc. I also used the mirror modifier here to save half the work!

http://mke3.net/blender/etc/lantern_topo.png

There are also a heck of a lot of vertices for the curve at the top, maybe experiment how you can improve that by only subdividing and sub-subdividing locally, keeping a similar grid pattern.

I feel stupid for not thinking of that…

Anyway, thanks for putting me in the right direction!

As for subdividing locally, is there a way to do that WITHOUT getting triangles in the faces surrounding the area you subdivide?

Those two quarters of a circle is all that’s left for the frame, then I can finally begin working on the rest of the lamp.

I’ll post a render of the lamp when it’s done, just because I reminded you of good days :wink: