Christmas Scene

Just a trial run after much absence on blender

Ok, let me see:

1. Red ball’s reflections feels wrong
    2.Glass is too clean and unrealistic
  2. The hat should have more and thinner hair, if your PC can handle it
  3. Generally, more variation on all hair, they seem too straight and regular
  4. The scene looks very clean
  5. Total lack of compositing, but I don’t think you have to worry about that yet…
  6. The lighting is not interesting
    Don’t take what I said personally, I as well have huge problems with shading and texturing and I’m no lighting expert. But I’ve come to realise that lighting is very important, especially when you’re trying to tell a story.
    Still, you seem to model pretty well, so, keep trying.
    And good luck with the competition, now I have to prepare my entry, so, bye…

mae it a dark scene and us a dim glow enlighted from your candle, also make the glass reflect.
Use a texture background for all your metal reflections, polish the candle a bit too.

1. Just in what way is the reflection wrong? Nothing is 100% reflective and that’s the lowest I wanted to go.
  2. Which glass??? The only glass is with the candy canes in the back - if you’re talking of the red ball, it’s not glass textured. If you’re talking of the copper ball it’s tarnished low reflect copper.

3 - working on that, PC may handle it

1. Too clean? Are you saying that there should be more mess? I didn’t want too much as to be overwhelming but what to add?

6 & 7 - composting is something I’ve never really broached. The tutorials I’ve found always seem to skip a step or two, if you can point out a good one for cycles than I’ll apply it.

If I may,