Christmas UFO Animation

Hi,

This is my first time posting something on Blender Artists, unless you count the replies to the tutorial for using this site. :slight_smile:

I just wanted to say Merry Christmas everyone and may you be blessed by the true Christmas Spirit all year round. And I wanted to share my Christmas UFO Animation that I dedicated to my dad.

The video’s YouTube description has some links that were helpful to me, including the link to the ebook that taught me how to build a toy robot.

Don’t forget to watch all of the end credits. I added a special effect to them.

Have a great Christmas!

14 Likes

I wish I would have seen this when you posted it! Nice lil’ animation! Cool how the tire tracks in the snow turned out to be a heart. I’m looking forward to seeing more! :smiley: :+1:

2 Likes

Thanks so much!

It took a while to figure out how to do the tire tracks. I had to keep tweaking the height of the curves that the robots were following and the mesh of the snow itself so the heart would look as clean as possible. Then I would had to wait for my laptop to bake the new dynamics of the snow mesh to see if it worked out. I’m glad you enjoyed the heart reveal.

I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work as well! :smile:

2 Likes

haha this is awesome! I love the heart effect on the snow (how did you actually do this?) and the credit to Dad at the end was really touching.

Also, did you use an emitting particle system with turbulence added for the effect on the credits?

Really cool theme overall, where can I sign up for the UFO?!

2 Likes

:grinning: Thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it. My dad loved Christmas and quite often, even during summer, children thought he was Santa. I went sci-fi with it because we used to enjoy watching sci-fi shows together.