Clay Modeling - newbie question.

Trying to create clay model material and lighting. I’m very new to blender (2weeks) so please excuse the results. I’m using the HDR approach that [email protected] posted but I seem to be having a problem getting the material correct.
Any suggestions or if anyone has a blender file I can pull apart that would be appreciated.

Cheers, Kordo.

Attachments

do they have a good one in Katzor/Legaz (not sure if I spelled that right) the Blender Materials Library.
I’ve got it, but I can’t find the link right now…what is it guys?

or maybe try to search for it on blender.org, blendernation, etc…it’s definately around, along with the model respository. Do you know these places?

I can’t remember right off, but they might have a good clay, at least to start from, then add some textures - viola

I sure someone can eventually lead you right to a great one

Thanks JohnMoran,

I did a search for Katzor/Legaz and ended up finding this great link below. Being looking for all the Blender sites I could find the last 2 weeks and thought I had them all.

Will keep looking for a good Clay Modeling tut.

http://blogmarks.net/user/-Nicolas-/marks/tag/blender

Actually, enable Ambient Occlusion and use the default material…(turn the spec slider to 0 maybe…). That should give you what you’re looking for. HDRI lighting (with Yafray, as you were trying to do it) isn’t really necessary although it obviously is a nice touch sometimes. But for me, Blender’s internal AO is enough.

KORDO - I would definately take Myke’s suggestion and experiment that way.
But re: blender links…they just never seem to end! I find some of the best ones by just searching the different forums here. Always something new, even after 6 months or so of searches

Also, take a regular look thru http://www.blendernation.com/ if you don’t already, they update it very frequently (and thanks to them btw)

happy blendering :slight_smile:

Thanks Myke and JohnMoran,