Clewer's BWC 2009 entry-Heartless(the name might change)

Hello!

I thought I would post a new thread about my entry to BWC.Still sketching concepts,one thing is for sure:steampunk.My main idea is a battle scene but I am thinking of a cityscape as well.Concept art soon!(Why did I sell my Wacom Bamboo???Argh…)

Clewer

Started sketching a tank…

Attachments

Some more progress:
Edit:the cannon has too small diameter IMO,but drawing it again would mess up the whole picture,so I’m gonna concentrate on the other parts and when finished redraw the whole imaga on a full page.

Attachments

Ok,I made some changes to the sketch but they are not too important,I’m gonna draw it with a bit better precision,and then start modelling(or maybe start modelling immediately,and let things evolve in 3D.
Also started thinking about the composition.

ooh nice design!
looking forward to the 3d :slight_smile:

Thanks Jeepster!I am a complete newb compared to your skills,but hey,I am just entering for the fun!Here is some update for the tracks(note that this is just a basic sketch,roughly 30 min of work):

Attachments

Another update…possibly the last this evening.BTW,I am in a dilemma right now.When I was modelling the tank,somehow one of my old drawings came across my mind.It had a great concept and it was original(I think).But it was more of a cartoony style.
The question is:should I follow the tank concept(steampunk,extreme detail,but a bit cliche)or the other project(fairly innovative and original,but it is more about the lighting than the detail).If you wish,I can redraw the old idea because I don’t have it right now.

EDIT:OK,my battery is dead for today,more explanation and progress tomorrow.

Attachments