Cliches

Is there a subject or character or situation that seems (to you) to be done to death that people can’t seem to stop rendering?

As much as I enjoy fantasy female portraits, I feel over-saturated by them. If you visit Renderosity you probably know what I mean.

I’m also working on a satirical image that portrays “render cliches” and would like some ideas. I’m leaning toward wireframe transitions. Like where part of an image just looks like the wireframe view option. Is that a cliche? I appreciate your feedback.

0 Likes

I haven’t browsed 3D renders because I’m just starting out and I don’t want to be too intimidated, but I know what you mean. It’s like when you get to your first art class at school and everyone and their mother has drawn a close-up of a human eye. :slight_smile:

0 Likes

(Michael Jones) #3

…“Oh, a Grasswald artwork again”… haha

0 Likes

(Ace Dragon) #4

On this forum, you tend to see a lot of car renders and tons of human heads. There’s also a ton of sculpts that simply have a generic grey material in a fairly empty scene.

Also popular; Low-poly and modern interiors. Then there’s Art Station where renditions of a Mimic are everywhere alongside tons of Game of Thrones and Pokemon fanart. Werewolves are also a very popular character type to render out.

0 Likes

Something I see very often is anime/manga style models.

0 Likes

Time to study Imagology…

Then take that knowledge and transfer it over to Society of spectacle, media, propaganda & multinational corporations (ie. Disney Studios…)

Whatever can insert an idea, a story in another. A play to make “story” believable, almost truthful… Why you see so much, is because uniformity makes it all easier to achieve a goal, whatever it may be (got nothing to do with classical understanding of ART). As is in “art of war”. Part of strategy and tactics.

0 Likes

(Gavin Scott) #7