Cloth Simulation. Yes, I'm a noob. **facepalm*

Ok, I have an incredibly simple cloth simulation in which I have a subdivided plane with cloth physics, and a regular plane (bigger than the first) with collision physics on it. The cloth is above the ground plane. I can hit Alt+A, and the cloth will usually fall down onto the ground plane. nice and easy, like I want it. Sometimes it doesn’t. And when it does, sometimes it’ll stop working if I change anything in my scene.

So I’m frustrated. I want the cloth to be able to behave dynamically in preview mode (Alt+A) and update the behavior when I add collision objects, scale the cloth, or whatever so that when I hit Alt+A again it will behave like it’s supposed to.

Additionally, I’d like to place another collision object above the cloth to fall onto the cloth, but that wasn’t working when I tried it earlier. (That’s when I reverted to troubleshooting with a simple setup.)

That’s my problem and my desired result, but I have no idea how to make it happen. I understand that it probably has something to do with the cache or baking, but I don’t yet know enough about Blender or the placement of certain options to control the cache at my whim (or if it’s even possible). Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I’m using Blender 2.68a on Window 7 Pro 64bit, 12Gb of RAM, 3.07GHz quad core i7, NVidia Quadro 4000 video card. Also, I’m in “Blender Render” mode.

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Support > Particles and Physics Simulations”

Thanks for the re-direction! :slight_smile:

I’ve sorta noticed this issue, and I think it’s related to where you are on the timeline. So make sure you are at frame 0 before hitting Alt+A.