Cloud Nucleus (more volumetric cloud goodness)

http://img215.imageshack.us/my.php?image=0309da3.png
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/kansas15/0309_G.thumb.png
My third attempt at making realistic clouds, this time their less raggedy and more bumpy.

The clouds interacting with the buildings turned out surprisingly well, the only (easily fixable) problem was very minor and involved clouds reflected in the windows (how Blender treats reflected rays going through z-transparent meshes), not the clouds themselves (which I found was probably me having the reydepth too low). There were also some problems with sky showing through at the building edges but that was greatly reduced in the Blender compositor…

You’ll need to see the full size image to see all the detail. But I think this turned out really well, and this time it only took 11 hours and 30 minutes to render.:wink:

Wow, looking great! I’ve been dreaming about creating clouds for many years - this is looking really promising. So realistic!

I’m not sure though what you mean by clouds reflected in windows (I can’t see any such reflections). If I can wish anything for your next render, it would be more transparent clouds and, of course, an animation.

Keep up the good work
/ Mats

It would be really cool if you were to upload the blend file :wink:

I think this will be my last cloud test, so uploading the .blend file is now a possibility.

Okay, .blend file for the whole scene here, complete with compositing setup used to fix some problem with the building edges and the clouds (note the compositing setup can be used to fix small .jpg artifacts too.)
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/view_photo.php?full=1&set_albumName=kansas15&id=saved13

NOTE: Larger raydepths makes reflected and refracted clouds work a lot better, I forgot I only had the raydepth at 1 in the raymirror settings for the windows.