Code boxes

Just a small convenience issue. It would be nice to have a “select all” button in the code boxes. Or am I missing something? Does anyone know if this can be done with css? I don’t think so but I’m not a coder.

Thanks.

It’s not CSS. It would need custom javascript. But yes, I agree that is an oversight and it would be nice to have it fixed. It’s common on other forum apps, so there’s no obvious reason for Discourse to not have it if they are claiming it be more advanced than others.

Incidentally, I find that cutting default code box height and adding resize: vertical; gives good results. Less space wasted up front, but easily expandable if you want to.

OK thanks, I’ll try that.

Great suggestion! Turns our there was a ‘theme component’ available to help with this. I have activated it:

/* Hide featured pics banner on posts */
.topic-above-post-stream-outlet {
    display: none;
}

/* Hide featured link button under featured pics */
.featured-link {
	display: none;
}

Cool. Funny that they didn’t have it on by default. It seems like an obvious feature that coders will want.

Most Discourse communities have no interest in code. And as this adds a (small) overhead for each page, it makes sense they don’t enable such a feature by default.

I can see the argument. On the other hand communities that have no interest in code simply won’t use code boxes, so there will be no overhead anyway. Even on communities that do have (some, intermittent) interest in code, the overhead will only apply for posts which actually use the code boxes, which is where coders will want the feature.

My 2c: I still think they were being a bit silly. Anyway we haz it now so it’s all good.

Not true, the CSS and Javascript codes are still on the page and are being loaded. So perhaps small, but if you add enough of features that a specific user group has no use for, you create bloat.