Collaberation between artists and programmers

Every so often, someone will want to make a team game. I have never seen any blenderartists team game finished, or even get beyond an ever-increasing pile of assets, or maybe, if started by a programmer, never really getting team members.

There are several things team’s need to be able to do:

• Communicate with each other
  • Submit work for inclusion in the project
  • Critique other peoples work
    Where ‘work’ can be art, code, sound etc.

A fantastic platform for programmers is github or gitlab. It provides wiki’s, bugtrackers, and lots of other stuff. Being based on a version control system is also a big plus. As a programmer, I would 100% recommend using gitlab for collaborating between team members.
But artists and for those that have never used git before, the learning curve is dreadful.

So what I want to know are:

• Are their any services people use for managing team projects (including files, version control, feedback etc.) that are palatable to artists, but offer enough code management tools to be useful to programmers.

File Sharing

• Dropbox, Google Drive etc.: great for artists as it’s simple to set up, but not at all good for code.
  • Git, SVN, Bazaar: Great for programmers, but incomprehensible to mere mortals (ahem, er, artists).

Instant Communication

• IRC: No history/logs for review later
  • Skype: Linux client sucks. Seriously. Even the web client is pretty bad.

Project Tracking

• Forums (eg phpbb, disquel): Work well, but spam-bots love them
  • Emails: Private and get ‘accidentally on purpose’ deleted
  • Wiki’s: Can work quite well so long as they have page history. A pain to maintain, and not that useful for communication, more for documentation.

What other services are there?

I think a very robust Verse client would be a very good idea :smiley:

chat + blendering in the same window, I can code, and direct when artists need direction etc.