Collections with custom attributes

I’m looking into managing some things with collections in Blender 2.8, to act as an “object set” (like in Maya) to act as a container for pipeline loaded content AND to keep a ‘stored selection’ (that saves with the scene) of output to publish with some specific settings.

Now I want to store custom attributes on these collections that the artist can easily access and potentially allow them to customize it. However, a collection is not a Blender “object” and lacks .data in Python nor can you view anything like that in the Object Data view.

I am not experienced enough with Blender to know whether I am approaching it wrong or am missing something. I hope the above gives enough details of what I’m looking for to get some tips on doing it with collections or other possible workflows. It not, I’d be happy to elaborate more.

1 Like

That is what overrides system was supposed to deliver.
Unfortunately, this target was postponed to release of 2.81.

I don’t know if devs are deliberately leaving an empty space in python API for them later and kept thinking about a rough workaround for 2.80 to later or simply did not have time.

But if you could develop what attributes, you would need to have custom per collection : that would help devs to precise priorities about this field.

Thanks for the quick reply. Overrides kind of sound like “Collection specific scene overrides” like one would use for different renderlayers. Right? However for this purpose that’s not what I’d need to have.

I will try to describe my two use cases:

An output publish instance