Collision Box Help

Hello, I am somewhat new to blender (been using it for about 2 months) and ran into a problem. I am currently creating a simple game and have had some trouble with collision boxes. If I move my cube on a bridge for example it can move across it but as soon as I push into it from the side i eventually move through it. I have a collision box for my cube but I still am able to push through the bridge. Also if I add a collision box to the bridge I cannot even walk on it because it adds invisible walls. Is there a way to make the collision box only go around each face instead of the object as a whole or can you make a custom one? Thanks in advance! Ps I am currently using blender 2.62

There can be a lot of different things that could be causing your problems. The best thing to do in these situations is to post a simplified blend file so people can help you more easily.

When enabling collisions bounds, the default setting creates a box that fully encompasses the object. If want the collision bounds to be restricted to the faces of the mesh, use triangle mesh. However, you should note that this setting puts the most load on the physics engine, so you should try to avoid using it when possible, especially on high poly meshes.

In general, I prefer to create separate, invisible objects for collisions and set the visible, more complex mesh to no-collision. This gives you more control over the object’s collision bounds and lets you make simpler objects that will put less load on the physics engine while still being able to use the normal mesh as the visual component.

Thank you Mobious for the information. But here’s another question, what’s the best way to do collision boxes on a huge landscape or map?

I actually can’t really speak from experience there, but you can probably get by fine using triangle mesh on either the landscape itself or a lower poly version of it.