Color Checker Calibrator

After doing a few addons and releasing them to the Blender Market, I noticed something that Blender didn’t have that some image compositors might want - a color checker calibrator. I made this mockup and tested it on a few images of my own, and it works fairly well.

If you have a color checker, do me a favor: check out the addon repository below and test it on your own images/videos. Does it work? In what ways could it be better? The first things I will look into is more color options (maybe a systematic way of adding/removing colors?) and calibration for black, midtones and white points.

I studied color spaces, LUTs, and color matching for a while, but I am very young in this field. So I need your help. This is going to be a public project because this is an application that I feel many would like to see in Blender (or at least for free). So please feel free to clone the repo, make changes (which I will be doing as well), and let me know so I can merge them for everyone’s benefit.

Feel free to ask questions and discuss :grin:

2 Likes

Haven’t tried the addon but I’m having a problem with color and this might help.
I have a render with some furniture in it. A closet needs to be an exact color so I’d like to give it that color in the compositor via some nodes. But filmic is causes it to be a different color

This because of how filmic works. So can your addon help with this?

The addon currently supports calculating colors to match a color passport. However, a next step in developing the addon would be to add your own colors so you could do something like this.

For now (if this is urgent or for a client), I would look into the hue correct node. That’s what my addon uses, so this will give you more flexibility to solve the problem than my addon currently does.

Thx Magnusson,

Indeed have been using other techniques to do so but it is fiddely to say the least.
keep me posted of your addon :wink: