color palette with 8-bit(256 colors) only, how?

Hi,

I am trying to come out with an animation work which only can be saved as a Windows bitmap images (256 colors), how can i choose my color palette and save the animation as windows bitmap images?

I tried to saved in “Render buttons” -> “formats” tab, and saved it as bmp format, but it seems it is not a real windows bitmap images isn’t it??

Another problem is, when i saved as bmp, it cannot be played back after “ANIM”, but the images did saved into the tmp folder. This did not happen when i used jpeg format, it can be ANIM and PLAY as usual, why?

Maybe the question i asked is simple enough, but please forgive me i am still new in Blender.:stuck_out_tongue: Thanks everyone for helping…

I don’t believe that Blender supports indexed images. You’ll probably have to colour quantize with another program.

Gimp loads a blender created BMP fine and reports it as a Windows BMP.

I can confirm that for me an anim saved as BMP won’t play back in Blender. Looks to be a bug.

I need the images in Windows bitmap 256 colors format because i need them to use in another software, which that software only support for standard Windows bitmap format images.

That’s means the only solution for me now is to do my works using jpeg format, then only convert to bitmap images?

I think there will some lost for the image quality.

Or BMP or PNG or Targa or…

Thank you Surt!

One last question, just to ask for your opinion.

I simply tried to convert the jpeg images (which is a 3D animation) to 256 bitmap using Microsoft Paint, it became an image with bad quality because of the color. Since the software i intended to use only support in 256 colors, is it better for me to draw my images in 2-dimension rather in 3D?

To get best results you’ll probably want to hand tweak the palette and I doubt MS Paint is ever going to give even half decent results.