Colored specular maps?

This is from something i do after work hours, mostly trying to learn things.

Naturally, i know specular maps can have colors, but i’ve come across some (i’ve dug them up from some games i bought, i hope that’s not a problem), which the color distribution makes little to no sense if you just apply them. Running one of them through GIMP (they’re .tga files, btw) shows all 3 channels make very distinct lighting patterns by themselves, so i could just separate them into 3 picture files and try using them like that, but i’m pretty sure i’d not be making the best use of it that way, and i’d probably be missing out on some important knowledge. I’ve tried using the node editor to isolate a specific color’s influence, but so far i’ve had no luck (i’m fairly inexperienced with it, since i’ve mostly been animating till now), and google hasn’t been kind to my searches, though i’m pretty sure i’m lacking the correct terms to begin with.

So my question is, is there a way to control a specular map’s behavior based on channel, or something to that effect?

Thanks for your time.

Are you wanting to render with Blender Internal or cycles or some other? Cycles has material nodes to convert RGB to B&W or separate out the colors (Add->Converter in the node editor). These channels could then serve as a “factor” input on a mix shader, which in turn has glossy and diffuse shaders as inputs.

BI has a texture panel to adjust the influence of the R, G & B channels and to put a checkmark on the the specular influence box.

So first, which renderer do you plan to use?

This really is a world i haven’t even scratched the surface yet. It’s embarrassing for me to say, but i didn’t even have the concept of multiple renderers until you posed that question. I had to go and read up on it for a bit before i could even give you an answer to that.