Combine Tiles script for Gimp

Hi,

While testing the new particle system I came across a problem that creating a tiled texture from an image sequence was tedious.

Long story short, I found Akkana Peck’s Pandora Combine script (pandora-combine-0.9.3.scm) and modified it to create a tiled image.

I’ve never written any Scheme before so there might be lots of bugs. So, use at your own risk. I only tested it in Gimp 2.4.5.

Instructions:

• Open first image of the sequence
  • Open rest of the images as layers on top of the first image
  • Filters -> Combine -> Make Tiled Image…
  • Add an integer representing the tile count, 2 means 2x2, 3 means 3x3 and so on…

www.decent.fi/hhoffren/combine-tiles.php

Though I can code, I’ve never written any Python yet. Now that I’d find some nice reference about these kind of functions in Python. I’d love to try creating this one working in Blender. :smiley:

hey dude, nice idea… do you have the script though?

The script is in the link at the first line here: www.decent.fi/hhoffren/combine-tiles.php

Thanks for the comment!

Thanks for the script. Nice job!! Only thing wrong is that I need to flip the image vertically after running the script. I believe Blender reads from the bottom left as image one in the animation. This script starts with image one in the top left?

Thanks again. Very useful for assembling animated normal maps from Genetica into a sprite sheet.

Donnie

Thanks dbigers! But I’m wondering about the order. It used to work like this in 2.46 http://www.vimeo.com/1412840

Not sure. I am using Blender 2.49A, but I am at work at the moment so I am not sure what version of Gimp I am using.

All I know is that when I tried the image as it came out of Gimp, it would not repeat and was real choppy. So I figured it was reading the image differently than the way they were packed by the Gimp. Once I flipped the image vertically it was able to loop and was smooth.