Commander Keen

Hey blenderheads. I just got dosbox and started running some copies of commander keen on my comp. And damn, are they good. Since I was born right before the birth of the N64, I never got to witness this masterpiece. But my mom and dad did. They told me that when they worked at Curtis Machine Co. in Dodge City, Kansas, they would play commander keen. My dad played it so much he lost all taste in video games. Sort of the same with my mom but video games are still a small part of her brain. But anyway, I downloaded episodes 1-5 and I must say that these have to be better than all this xbox 360 and ps3 super killmaster shooter games. Ever since I started playing commander keen, I have been exploring the classics more and more.
You guys post whatever stories you have with commander keen in your childhood. I would love to hear them.

Played a lot of classics… never played this one though… I don’t know… the first Episodic game I think I played was Leisure Suit Larry… Earliest game I played was probably Oregon Trail on an old Apple IIe (maybe something prior but I can’t remember if the Atari 800 was before or after).
If you want other good classics, check out Kid Nikki, Rolling Thunder, Golgo 13, the old Duke Nukems (the side scrollers), a bunch of the old Nintendo games (NES). The games older than NES and SEGA tended to be a little abstract because of the limitations of the hardware/programming, but there were some good’uns on the floppy/cartridge machines earlier. (checking Gametap for Commander Keen).

Commander keen and his pogo stick . . . .

Commander keen and his pogo stick . . . .

Lol definitely

I remember him… running under bouncy mushrooms with evil grins, stunning slugs (and parents iirc), bouncing around on a pogo stick, fleeing from angry rocks… and the annoying “dee-dee-deeee…der-der-derrrr” everytime you died. Unfortunately my family got rid of the computer with Keen on it earlier this year (well, it ran Dos and Windows 3.11).