Compiling Blender 2.8 ubuntu 18.04 problem

(Fran3Dartist) #1

Greetings!

I believe this is my very first post, although I’ve been following the website for sometime. I’ve been using blender as my default software for about a year, and with it I’ve learnt to appreciate and embrace opensource software. So much that I ended up forgetting about using windows a week ago and go full on with linux. Working in the VFX industry I got used to using Fedora and others, but I never had to install or compile packages. I started compiling following the steps of this website https://wiki.blender.org/wiki/Building_Blender/Linux/Ubuntu, but some features ( such us subdivision surface modifier and others ) don’t work. I’ve googled the problem but I haven’t found any way to solve the issue.

Do you guys have any idea of what might be happening?

Thanks in advanced guys and have a great day!

(Fran3Dartist) #2

I believe the issues come from the compiling process itself. I’m very new to these things so sorry If I’m doing somehting wrong. This is what I get after using the command “make”:

Configuring Blender in “/home/fran/blender-git/build_linux” …
CUDA_TOOLKIT_ROOT_DIR not found or specified
– Could NOT find CUDA (missing: CUDA_TOOLKIT_ROOT_DIR CUDA_NVCC_EXECUTABLE CUDA_INCLUDE_DIRS CUDA_CUDART_LIBRARY)
CUDA toolkit not found, using dynamic runtime loading of libraries instead
– Could NOT find HDF5 (missing: HDF5_LIBRARY HDF5_INCLUDE_DIR)
– Boost version: 1.65.1
– Found the following Boost libraries:
– filesystem
– regex
– thread
– date_time
– wave
– locale
– iostreams
– system
– chrono
– atomic
– serialization
runningllvm-config-
– Found OpenMP_C: -fopenmp
– Found OpenMP_CXX: -fopenmp
– Found OpenMP_C: -fopenmp
– Found OpenMP_CXX: -fopenmp
– Could NOT find GLUT (missing: GLUT_glut_LIBRARY GLUT_INCLUDE_DIR)
– GLUT_FOUND=FALSE
CUDA_TOOLKIT_ROOT_DIR not found or specified
– Could NOT find CUDA (missing: CUDA_TOOLKIT_ROOT_DIR CUDA_NVCC_EXECUTABLE CUDA_INCLUDE_DIRS CUDA_CUDART_LIBRARY)