Complete newb lost on non-manifold vertices...

Forgive me this is a really stupid and/or easily answered question, by I’ve been juggling Blender, TurboCAD 16 deluxe and Meshlabs for the past seven hours and my brain has just given up (and this is the SECOND TIME I’ve had to write this post up because the boards ate the first one, so now I’m annoyed as well as frustrated and lost!!!)

My ultimate plan is to design some starship models, in TurboCAD, where I’ve had simply years of experience (like about 15 or so) and can do so with reasonable expediency, them export them out to be used at Shapeways or other similar places.
The first problem is that, without the Pro version, I can’t make surfaces per se, nor can I export directly to something useful like .stl.

I figured can work round this minor problem in two ways;

1. use TurboCAD to draw the wireframe and use blender to make it into a usable surface/non-manifold thingy

or 2) Create 3D shapes in TurboCAD by making my polylines into 3D shpaes by adding a thickness (for the sake or arguement, 0.1mm). Then I could simple boolean these shapes into an effective solid, single surface.

Under the second method, I managed to get all the way to doing the model, exporting it as a .dae into mechlab and out as a .stl and uploading it to Shapeways. Where I found to my lack of surprise, that it had some errors; specifically non-manifold errors. After some effort trying to translate their demonstration video’s altered blender interface, I managed to get a look at the file, and discovered that, because of the ‘wall’s’ thickness, the complexity of the location of the non-manifold points meant I had no clue how to go about fixing them or even what the problem was.