[Completed] Attack on Splash Screens (2.80 and 2.90)

This is the thread for the entire process of creation of my entry to the ‘Make a Splash in Amsterdam’ Challenge 2022.

Note: The thread contains minor spoilers for Attack on Titan.

Thumbnail:

The Model:

Tl;dr of the concept:

This model is based on the anime ‘Attack on Titan’, and uses elements from the splash screens of Blender 2.80 and 2.90. Autumn, the dog, is biting his hand and is mid-transformation, into a titan which is the Fox.

So, let’s begin.

About me:

I am an engineering student who wants to get into CGI, more specifically to create NPR (non-photorealistic) artwork and finally get into producing anime. I started when Spring had just come out and used 2.8, so that’s where I began to look for ideas.

The idea:

I am very much into anime, and one of my favorite series is ‘Attack on Titan’, which is a show about humans fighting and turning into giant man eating monsters.
So in my scene, Autumn will be transforming into the giant fox from 2.9’s splash screen.

Here is a set of references I gathered:

I then proceeded to create a basic sketch concept using grease pencil:

Modeling Begins

I downloaded the files from Blender cloud and proceeded to clean them up and only copy what I want. It was interesting to see the thousands of modifiers and drivers that were used on Autumn’s rig, which I had to delete.

I did some basic modelling to add elements to the scene, here is a WIP:

The ribs were simple curves with an array modifier, and so was the ‘paths’ tree in the background.

‘Paths’ is a dimension where titans are created, here is a reference photo:

I then had to proceed with making the model look more ‘life-like’ and less computer-generated. I started with editing the ribs to make them look more organic, and then made some small changes to the tree as well.