complex(ish) sub-D shape... how would you approach this task?

Hi,

I’m still quite new to modeling. I am trying to model this shape as a single sub-D surface:

So far I have this (note: I know a few of the proportions are wrong and that the radius of the bend leading into the ring is wrong… fixes are coming. I am really more tying to learn procedures here).

The way I got there was to start with a simple cylinder (One of the posts on the end of the piece) and then started extruding faces and inserting edge loops. The problem is that the further I go, the harder it gets to build the complex, interacting shapes. All of the previous extrusions and new edge loops feel like they are backing me into a corner the further I go. As it was, it took me a fairly long time to get that ringed hole in there (The one you see close up in the third image), and then it was even more difficult to get the two blocks on either side (and I eventually gave up and introduced two tris to get it to work). Now I cannot figure out how to round them as marked in red in the third image.

So, my question is this: How would you go about creating this shape? Would you start with a primitive and just keep inserting edge loops and extruding your way to pure Blender Nirvana? Or would you start with disconnected shapes (i.e. the two cylinders on the ends, the ring in the center, the blocks on either edge of the ring that hold the bolts, and the sort of wing shape that connects them all). Would you create these such that they work on their own and then somehow start connecting them up once they are in place and more or less working independently? Or is there some third way that I haven’t thought of yet?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice

Here is the .blend file:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17475846/Blender/complexShape1.blend