Compositing question

Just have a few questions. Im new to blender so sorry for newb question.

1. When compositing a 3d object over live footage should all textures already be final? Can i change the textures in the compositor? I am going by the track match blend series and mostly following the gun arm tutorial. In track match blend 2 i see the compositor works completely different.

2. i am applying a 3d bayonet to the end of a rifle that is live action footage. There were no markers on footage but i was able to get 8 object markers on rifle. I have 2 markers at the barrel of the rifle when i apply the 3d bayonet it seems like it is passable but a little shaky. I parented the bayonet to one of the markers like in the video. So 8 markers on rifle 2 of those 8 are on barrel. Is that enough? Can blender take the other markers that are located on rest of rifle and use that info?

Thanks again for any help you can give me!

1. Yes you can turn on a UV pass to remap individual object’s textures, BUT it is not as accurate as those rendered in the 3D view. Especially if using Cycles as the material (including texture) will contribute to the lighting in the scene via bounces.

2. dunno… sorry.

I sense “diminishing returns” here. Be sure that there is a return-on-investment in the time you put into this.

First, do all the move-matching, perhaps using bayonet-sized objects that have no textures at all. Even if you do a little manual adjustment of the movement curves, get the match down close-enough so that the audience (never-mind “you,” you CG perfectionist … :wink: ) will not perceive objectionable shakiness. (As Zac said in A Chorus Line: “Don’t Draw My Eye!”)

Also: “cut the film together first.” Determine what shots are going to be in the final cut. Don’t spend (much) time on footage that will wind up on the cutting-room floor. Don’t spend time on “passing shots” or situations where the bayonets won’t the object of attention.