Comprehensive Video Training Course

Good morning,

I was learning the basics of Blender 2.79 from a 10 hour video course on Lynda.com. I’ve used 3ds Max in the past but I can’t afford it because I’m just a hobbyist and my 3ds Max student version ran out. I was swearing a lot at the Blender 2.79 interface because, while I’m sure that it makes sense to some people and I’m sure it has advantages, I think it was designed by very very drunk people. Or people far more intelligent than I am who are slowly showing us the way that all software works in 2050, or quite possibly both.

Long story short, I heard about 2.8, downloaded, installed it, played around with it for 20 minutes and I’m hooked. It’s more like Adobe stuff, 3ds Max, and every other Windows program I use.

I’m looking for a comprehensive video training course on it. I know it’s beta, so I’m not expecting anything perfect or anything that won’t change a little bit. Lynda.com’s courses in Blender are anemic. Udemy has two, but I’m not sure if they’re any good and it looks like one person took 2.8 and reverted it back to 2.79 with the hotkeys and stuff, which kinda kills the point. Amazon’s got nothing by way of books. YouTube videos seem to be 2.79 mostly, and I doubt that they’re going to serve as a basic training course because YouTube is more scattershot than Lynda and Udemy.

Suggestions greatly appreciated.

• Mark

2.8 is under construction.
Any video that you could find about 2.8 today may show something that was not there in a video made a month ago. And this thing could have another name, icon or behavior in one month.

If you do a search with Beta or EEVEE as a tag, you should find videos about users sharing their tests and thoughts about 2.8.
You may take a look to Blender Developers youtube channel where pablo demos new features and behaviors added compared to 2.79.
But don’t expect serious courses before one or two months. That would be scams to publish some, today.