Computer Recommendations?

I’m thinking about getting a new computer & monitor and could use some recommendations.

For work, my company-owned workstation is a 2x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Mac Pro with 56 GB RAM & a 27-inch LED Cinema Display. It’s overall great for my needs. But the current-day equivalent is outrageously expensive and I also worry about future updatability. (Our work mac’s can’t be updated to the latest OS and adobe software)

For home, I run a windows computer but it is not a high-end computer graphics machine (i7 Core 3.4 GHz; 8 GB current ram with 16 GB max ram; graphics card - NVIDIA GeForce GT 640).

It has been a REALLY LONG time since I’ve bought a windows machine built specifically for computer graphics.

I do 3D work mostly as a hobby and to supplement my 2D illustration. So I don’t need massive rendering ability at this point.

I work as a professional retoucher. In order to do this work I need a good deal of RAM (the files can sometimes get huge) and the ability to run more-or-less current versions of Adobe software. I also need a good monitor capable of relatively strong color accuracy.

So I am wondering what do you all have that you like? What do you like or not like about the systems you have? What would you recommend? What should I stay way from?

Cheers!

What I like most? Everything… Plenty of RAM, a powerful cpu with good single threaded performance, a beefy gpu to help with my viewports and renders, and of course, nvme’s. As many and as large I can.

So, in your case what’s the budget available? That’s the first and most determining factor. Around this factor one can suggest parts in order to have a balanced system.
You won’t be needing a multicore processor for Adobe apps, especially 2d vector illustrations. But single core performance is paramount. It could be the new 12600K, or AMD’s 5600X. Or even a previous generation 11000 series Intel. It depends on the budget.
As for RAM, get the most your money can buy. It’s never enough.