Concept [] I'm coming home [] 2D Platformer

I am kind of new with blender and have started this project to learn some basic methods of making a simple BGE games, and in long sight, getting something finished. The actual game I would like to make someday, would be a 2D story driven puzzle platformer. I made a fast testing scene for my project, because first thing I wanted was to determine the dark and scary mood I’m looking for the game.

The game itself would take place in abandoned city after a nuclear disaster (no, no zombies, they are everywhere nowadays). More than scary and dark, I want to make it sad with storytelling and music.

Primary features and appearance:

-Black & White CRT screen kind graphics (yet do decide if its completely B&W(See the picture, tell which you prefer))
-Ortographic camera view
-3 layers where player can move in and out. (layers can be separated by darkness of objects(again, see the picture)
-Simple inventory system
-enemies that will chase you, which could be distracted by hiding (far in future) simple sneaking system
-flashlight
-screen effects for low health, high radiation, and extreme cold

I have created the CRT effect by adding three 2D filters on top of each other. 1st is black screen noise, 2nd blur and 3rd chromatic abberration. The broblem is I encounter serious FPS drop when activating the chromatic abberation filter while particles are emitted. I have fairly powerful computer but Framerate drops from 60 FPS to merely 20 FPS. If somebody would know way to do this efect with smaller framerate drop I would be thankfull. second broblem is that my particle blugin is buggy as Duck, so I’d again be thankful if someone would recommend some stable particle addon. I would also like to hear what you think of my idea. These screenshots don’t actually make much honor for the actual filter, but I did not have time to make a video of it. Sorry for bad english, it’s not my native language…

Attachments

Hey @MangoMursu,