Conforming Clothes?

Dear Community,

well … I have been working (or playing) with Poser for several years but I am pretty new to Blender. Currently I am trying to learn about clothes. In Poser there is a very handy way of clothes called “conforming clothes”. This is actually a character (in the shape of clothes like trousers, catsuit or what ever) with a skeleton (sorry … an armature) in it. You can “conform” the clothes to a charakter, which means all the bones of the clothes are put in the same place as the bones of the character. Also their rotation etc. is locked. If you lift the left arm of the character the left arm bone (and geometry) of the cloth lifts with it automatically. The clothing follows the movements of the character and fits always.
In Poser this is done by one mouseclick and I am wondering whether there is a similarly easy way of doing this in Blender, too? (Of course, before you can do it you must have the clothes set up and rigged properly.)

Thanks,

Kyraia

If the cloth is properly rigged, all you have to do is to link the armature deformer to the same armature as the character, or better “set parent to armature deform”; cloth and character must have the same origin and orientation.
For properly rigged I mean that the armature which the cloth is rigged on must have the same bones with matching names, and same scale/proportions than those of the character.

paolo

Hello Paolo,

it has been a while but now I tried to do what you suggested. But unfortunately it didn’t work.
I have a boxman character and a dress for him but after several tries with linking or parenting the dress still doesn’t follow the boxman. It is just doing nothing. It seems I have not yet completely understood how this works.

Kyraia

Attachments

Hi Kyraia,