Confused by objects and UV maps

(GeoffW) #1

Hi

Can anyone with some knowledge of Blender and 3ds max clarify this please
I was attempting to make an aeroplane model for a game, the game Devs. dont use Blender, as they model in Max. I have some limited knowledge or Blender and zero experience of Max

I asked them this question

Q1)
In Blender in order to UV map a mesh to a single texture image file, the mesh must be one single object. Multiple objects cannot image map to a single file. Is this a problem compared to 3ds Max that is used for Bob2 model design. A model need to keep lots of separate objects for Bob2 usage, so how does 3DS Max cope with this ? Hope this compatibility issue is not a show stopper ?

One of the Devs replied

Are you 100.0000% sure on this? That would be VERY surprising to me, one texture for several/many "sub"objects is common, as otherwise DX9/OpenGL slow down. Blender is known as featureful (but unconventional GUI) and people have worked on it for years if not decades now, so I do not expect this at all. Please ask on a Blender forum.
If it is true, IMHO most people using it (unless doing REALLY simple test objects or not caring for FPS at all) would have the issue. How do they circumvent it? Make one object, UV map it, then cut it up?

Was my original statement correct ?

Also, once I had completed my model and uv mapped it in Blender I would need to export it as a different file format, 3ds, or obj or whatever, havent decided yet.
Would this be able to export multiple sub objects that all map to a single UV image file ?

Geoff
0 Likes

(Duoas) #2

I’m sorry to say that they’re right…:yes:

There is no restriction to what UV-maps to which image. You can have more than one model use the same image. You can have more than one image on one model. You can have both at once. :smiley: