'Consummate Match' WIP for BWC 2008

Well, I saw the announcement of the Blender World Cup 2008 last night and I wanted to get right to work on my entry because I am a total noob when it comes to Blender and a total poser when it comes to art. That being said, I had a funny idea in the shower this morning for a picture that I might be able to pull off.

Here’s my idea: I want to do a shot of a wedding of socks. Yes, an entire church packed with socks. Each one of them would be bent over kind of like a sock looks when you make a sock puppet. They will all have buttons stitched on them for eyes and there will be a large variety of different kinds of socks. There will be a whole wedding party of socks, including bridesmaids as matching gaudy socks (and the one token fat bridesmaid sock), groomsmen socks (all black), a minister sock, etc. The happy couple will be rolled into a ball (the consummate match) and heading out the door at high speed while nearby socks throw motion-blurred birdseed at them. I’m also thinking about tears that are staining wet spots onto some of the more feminine socks. A couple of the guests will look wild (the five-toed socks will look like wild hair, plus some piercings or whatnot).

I thought maybe that you might be able to see a parking lot full of shoes out one of the windows. A variation on the whole theme might be to have the rolled pair of socks getting into a fancy dress-shoe (limo) outside the front doors of the church, but I think I like the inside idea better.

Anyway, here’s my extremely amateur pencil sketch of the layout:

I intend to get right to work on this project, so I will be posting regular updates as I progress.

Interesting…

Actually this is a really good idea and will look awesome if pulled off correctly. DON’T SCREW IT UP! lol

Good luck!

yeah, that could be awesome if made right :slight_smile: looking forward to see more!!

Funny concept.
That will be really interesting to watch unfold.