Controlling a motion within a range using joystick (beginner question)

Hi all,

I am fairly new to blender and still trying to learn as I go along. I have read a lot of tutorials on motion control using actions in BGE but I still can’t figure out how to control my motion within a range. What I mean is that, in this case for example, I have hand whose index finger is rigged to bend. I have two motions defined bend and unbend each consisting of 30 frames. Moving the stick to the right bends the finger and moving it to the left unbends it, however I can’t bend finger halfway (for example to frame 20) by moving the stick half way to right, and then unbend it from that point by moving the stick to the left (from frame 10 to 30 in terms of unbend motion). When I move the stick to the right halfway and stop moving the finger continues bending all the way to frame 30. I have attached my bend file to this post. Could someone please give me some guidance or point me to the right direction here?.

Attachments

hand2.blend (290 KB)

if I tell you can I use your beautiful hand ? ^^

just kidding :
http://jerome.le.chat.free.fr/download/draft/hand2.blend

you can use a property (int or float) to specify the frame of an action to be displayed.
here I created a ‘bend’ property which is updated by the joystick, then used by the action actuator
there’s also some stuff to control min and max values.
(you give me a hand ?)

littleneo,

Thanks for your help. The method you are using makes much more sense for what I am doing, however the finger still keeps on bending even when the joystick’s stick is halfway in the middle. Basically what I want is for the finger to stop moving when the stick is not moving, e.g. when the stick is in the middle the finger should stop at frame 15.