Controlling how mesh deforms

Hi all,

I’m a newbie to rigging and i’ve built a rugby player (based on BlueZoo’s BBC rugby idents) to learn with. The low poly res is an intentional part of the design. the problem I’m having; when i raise the thighs, the shorts deform very messily and faces begin to intersect each other (i’m guessing that’s a big ‘no-no’ when it comes to animating???) How do i determine how i get the mesh deforms. Having had a brief root around online, i’m guessing that Shape keys is the way to approach this!?? But any direction and help would be gratefully received.

Apologies if there’s an existing post covering this subject. I did have a quick search! If there is please direct me.

Many thanks in advance
Rugby Giant rigged5.blend (807 KB)

Attachments

Hi Chamine and welcome to the forum!

Kudos to you for writing a good first post! You’ve included pictures and the .blend file, all of which are usually needed when seeking help, so your off to a good start here.

I looked at your file and normally I would say your topology needs work, but given the style of the character, there not much room for topology improvements. Some work could be done in this area. A few loop cuts here and there would be helpful.

Second thing I looked at was your weight painting, lemme guess, was it auto weighting? Going to need some work in this area, so if you don’t know how to weight paint, you need to learn and fix the problems you have. There is no noticeable weight in the problem area assigned to the hip bone. The neck also needs work, weight for that bone is mostly on the back of the character, with very little weight on the front of the neck area. Tilt the head & neck backwards to see what I mean.