Converting from 3ds to blender

I downloaded the blender converter from http://www.blenderwars.com/content.php?module=download (under the plugin section) but it won’t import 3ds files like it says it does on the websight. I might have to start converting lightwave models but on www.scifi3d.com most of the models are in 3ds. What should I do

Well, I’m a newbie myself … and probably not the right person to answer you … but I downloaded the latest stable Blender release (2.34) and it comes with the 3DS importer. I have used it without problems (although not really impressed with the models I loaded). I just select File -> Import -> 3D Studio.

Hope this helps.

The first thing you should do is not expect everything to work … sorry … I didn’t try the converter myself yet…but I tried to import some AI files into blender using the new import functions…

Everyone said that they worked… but hell, with me they didn’t… I ended up working around through wings in order to import the outlines of 1 freaking letter… took me all day to figure that one out…

Importing 3DS into blender, I am going to try that one soon …

md01

There is no 3ds import in that list. But there is some way out there because the blender models I downloaded from www.blenderwars.com showed in their descriptions that they were converted from 3ds. I’m really starting to get cheesed off. This one little thing seams to elude me at every turn.

If you are using Blender version 2.34 simply select File -> Import -> 3D Studio. Then select the .3DS file that you wish to import. It couldn’t be easier. If you don’t see an entry in the import submenu for 3D Studio, the name of the import script is import-3ds-0.7.py This script can be obtained at this link:

http://bane.servebeer.com/programming/blender/index.html#3DS

You might as well grab the 3DS Export Script while you are at it.