Copying Objects & Rigs etc, from One Blend file or Scene to Another.

Hi folks,

I’m at my 1.5 week stage teaching myself Blender and finding it awesome! Total newbie to animation and 3D modeling.

OK… question of the day, and yes, I’ve searched the forums but all the answers seem to be for Game engines and make little sense to me.

So I’ve downloaded a bunch of Blend files from tutorials and Blendswap etc. I want to use some of the models and rigs in the scene I’m building while I learn the software. So far, I’ve figured out that I can import a Scene using the Append, and that that pretty much imports everything in the Blend file. Now… how do I get a rigged model from the newly imported scene in my blend file to the other scene that I’m working on?

I know there’s gotta be a REALLY simple way of doing this but no one seems to have given a simple explanation from what I can see… like for us REAL NEWBIES!

I also played around with the Link instead of Append but didn’t see a difference other than an L next to the Scene name. Kinda grey on what the Append and Link do as a whole.

Thanks for taking the time and patience to help a struggling Newb. If you’re so inclined I have a Render problem I’ve posted that no one can solve so far… :eyebrowlift:

Attached is a shot of the scene I’ve built so far - don’t laugh… MANY issues, I know!!! :spin:

Select all the objects you want to move to another scene, and press CTRL-L, then press objects to scene, and choose the scene you want to move it to. This will duplicate it, so you will still have the original object in the starting scene. You can delete that if you don’t need it :wink:

Thanks Dude! That did it. I still have some issues but probably due to the complexity or structure of the model I was playing with importing. (The Gromit dog from Blenderswap.)