copylocation constraint lags one frame

On a mechanical rig I have a mesh parented to an armature using vertex groups,(no armature modifier). One bone of the armature revolves the mesh. An empty is parented to the mesh and another bone copies the location of the empty, but upon animation it is always one frame late. I tried searching and found where Theeth had fixed this in an earlier version ( I use 2.42). Time offset didn’t help. Also, I’m new at this so I don’t understand why, when I parent the mesh to the armature I get a choice of “parent to armature”- “parent to object” If the active selection is the armature, how can it parent to the armature? I tried both ways and it looks the same in outliner. Blend file is here if you want to see it. http://rapidshare.com/files/14570618/brokenflywheel.blend.html

Hmm, I had encountered this with hooks driving a curve in 2.41 or2.42 I believe…

I played with your file for an hour 2.42a and yes, it’s still the same bug. Send the .blend to the bugtracker:
http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?atid=125&group_id=9&func=browse

%<

Hi !
I have also palyed with the file in 2.42a, and I have noticed a very strange thing :
The Rotator (Wheels) is parented to a bone of the armature which is used to rotate the wheel.
The Empties used to move the other bones are vertex parented. Until now, it’s OK.
I have tried to parent a cube to the Rotator object… Surprise ! When you rotate by hand the rotator object around it’s center the cube follows the rotation, but the cube doesn’t rotates with the wheel when the animation is launched !
In V2.42a, I have made a simple file with an armature including a rotating bone used as parent for a cylinder. The bone rotates and makes the cylinder rotate too.
I have parented a cube to the cylinder, and when I start the animation, the cube follows as well.
Did you make the file with Blender V2.43 RC1 or RC2 or any CVS build, or is it a 2.42a file from scratch ?
Philippe.

Roubal: