Copyrighting a character?

How do you get copyrights for a character you have modeled and you use in your artwork like posters, cards etc. :confused:

You stamp © your name 2006 on it.

I’m not a lawyer (disclaimer, disclaimer, disclaimer) but I believe that you can copyright artwork created with your character or the data from which the character is made, but to protect the character itself you might be better off with a trademark. In any event, U.S. copyright law says that you are the holder of the copyright to works that you create as soon as you create them. However, if someone were to steal the material, and you wanted to sue, you’d have to be able to prove that you created the concept first, AND you’d have to prove that their character was substantially similar to yours so as to be identical or derivative. The only reliable way to establish the date of your creation is to register it (in the U.S., that would be with the Patent Office). Most other countries have similar rules and procedures. YMMV, of course, and you should consult an attorney before proceeding with any legal action (disclaimer, disclaimer, disclaimer).

I have heard that some CG artists hide small but easily identifiable patterns in their meshes to guard against outright theft of the data when posting or otherwise distributing it, so they can verifiably identify their property in court.

It is also my understanding that adding a letter “C” in parentheses is not considered a valid declaration of copyright, but that the special symbol of a small “C” inside a circle is required.

Just a note, in the US, you’ll want to go to the http://www.copyright.gov/ office, not the patent office - that’s for inventions. Alternately, you might might want to trademark a character if its a specific image, which would be kind of like a logo.
As well as the circled C, you can type out Copyright <year>.