CPU + GPU Rendering not working (OpenCL)

I’m new to Blender and wanted to check, if my PC Build is capable of rendering. For that I’ve downloaded the ‘Spring’ Demo File from the official Blender page.

First I’ve tried rendering an image with my Intel CPU which worked alright. Then I’ve checked the checkbox for my AMD GPU for OpenCL in the Preferences and tried ‘GPU Compute’ Rendering which also worked but was way slower.

Since I saw some videos on YT I knew that you can also render with CPU and GPU at the same time. So I’ve checked both my CPU and GPU for OpenCL in the Preferences and tried ‘GPU Compute’, which was kind of disappointing. For some reason only my CPU is used, but not my GPU. Since I’m using Linux, I thought it was a Problem with the OS, but on Windows the same thing happens.

Those are some details that may help you to solve my problem:

Specs / Software:

Intel i5-6500 3.3 Ghz 4 Core/Threads

AMD MSI RX 560 Aero Itx 4 GB

16 GB RAM DDR4 2133 mhz

Mushkin SOURCE 500 GB

Dualboot – Manjaro / Windows 10

Blender v2.83.1

The GPU is officially supported (GCN 4) (https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/render/cycles/gpu_rendering.html#amd)

The GPU supports OpenCL 2.0

My question are…

• Is CPU + GPU Rendering only supported by CUDA?

• If not, what am I missing here?

First it is definitely supported in OpenCL (last tested on 2.82, will test on latest and report back if feature is broken)

I have AMD Threadripper CPU and AMD Vega GPUs’ so can only test this config.

Just tested with 2.83.1. GPU and CPU rendeirng works as regular.

One thing to note about AMD GPU’s is the time for “kernel complie” , which might look like it isn’t working. had to wait 20+ seconds for the kernel to compile after i changed the gpu + CPU setting.

Additinoally what application did you use to track GPU usage?