create an "illustrator" offset path for vacum molded logo

Hi there,

First of all,… everybody who worked on this beautiful program to make it and improve it, and all of you who spend time teaching and helping people to get working with it THANX. I really starting to like this program.

But now I’m searching something witch I can’t find,… I trying to make a vacuum molded 3D logo. And thanx to some recent post I think I know how to do it right! (showthread.php?t=164631). What I’m searching for now is how can I make a “offset path” (anyway so is it called in Adobe Illustrator) I made an image to make it clear!
The first 2 are scaled, the last 2 have an "offsetpath.

http://www.dtpmike.nl/example.gif

Greetings MMike

Attachments

ALT+S in Edit Mode, to scale along the object’s normals ?

Hey MMike, I would use Inkscape to get the paths the way you like. It has nice options for offsetting the path in the Path menu. I used to be an Illustrator god.:ba: Then use Blender’s SVG Importer for Inkscape SVG.

But that I get this: Afbeelding 1.jpg

And I want Afbeelding 2.jpg, and it would be nice if i can do it with a entire text-logo at once.

Attachments

You could use the ‘solidify selection’ script. You would first have to extrude your mesh perpendicular to the direction you would like it offset as it only affects faces. Delete the additional vertices when you have completed the offset.

Richard

like organic said before extruding and using alt + s would work nicely

Moffboffjoe, Organic: Sorry but,… I don’t understand what I can do wrong then,… I have an edge-loop selected > extrude > “only edges” > hit ALT+S,… and drag.
With a circle it works, but if I look at the examples of the hart figure and the other figure (gray) I don’t get the space between the first and second line exactly the same on all the sides, with ALT+S :frowning: I’m wondering if you make a hart shape en use ALT+S is the line on all sides exacty the same?