Creating a hollow model

Hi

Im a blender noob. I have been reading this tutorial http://www.shapeways.com/tutorials/creating-hollow-objects

It says there when trying to make the cube hollow, you create a smaller replica of the cube and place it inside the original one.
I just want to know — when it says ‘place it inside the original’, how axaclty do that?

Regards

Just move the smaller cube so its inside the volume of the larger object. Alternatively you could also use a solidify modifier.

If I use the solidify modifier, do I need to create an opening on the object because the tutorial says "
If you want your object to be truly hollow (i.e.: containing air, not plastic), you’ll need to add a few holes in the object wall."

Your mesh object is made out of vertices, edges and faces (polygons) which all have 0 thickness. Can’t 3D print those.
What you do is model all the object surfaces with them and that way one can tell what parts are solid and what parts are not. A cube in the example is one solid object - it only has the outside surfaces. When you put a duplicate inside, you describe an inside surface, creating a hollow object.

Solidify modifier creates thickness. It makes the inside (or outside) surface for you, based on the surface you already have and the parameters you put in.
In 3D printing the reality is that you can’t print in mid air, you need support material to make the top part. And the only way that support material comes out afterwards, is that you model some holes in, or drill in it afterwards.

When you create a model that is hollow, this process creates a wall thickness. You want the result to be 1 complete surface,well defined surface(normals pointing in the correct direction)
This is a good example.Add a cube, subdivide it several times.Delete a face.Then in edit mode select all, extrude,ESC(right click) scale inward.Then select all,Ctrl N,that recalculates normals.