Creating instances with predetermined position/rotation?

Hey,

I would like to create an instances that would copy placement and rotation of already existing set of selected objects.

I have no experience with Python, but I suppose this could be done. Would anyone know how to do this?

Thank you for reading!

I’m having trouble visualizing your end result, so feel free to correct me here.

You have a set of objects - let’s call them A, B, and C. You have another object that you plan to instance- D. You want three instances of D that copy the placement and rotation of A, B, and C, respectively. Is that correct?

Yes, exactly that!

Ok, if you want to do this with Python, that’s totally doable :slight_smile: Give me a minute and I’ll whip up a script for you

1 Like

Check into dupliverts and duplifaces.

That’s an interesting idea, but in my case, it’s not what I’m looking for. I need as precise replacement of the mesh as possible, ideally with preserved information such as scale, rotation etc

Select all and then make D the active object. Then press “Ctrl - L” followed by “o”.

If you want to keep A,B and C duplicate them first.

If D should be a collection instance turn it into a collection instance first.

I see. However, preferably, I would like to create instance empties where all those objects are, with their rotation, scale and most importantly, the position.

I would like to be able to move around some of those empties, but Your solution and the solution from Modron would mean I would have to still keep a lot of simplified objects on the scene. Instead of just empties as placeholders.

I hope it make sense.

Hey, just want to politely remind myself! Any luck with that code?

1 Like

It’s not really an efficient option, but here you go:

import bpy

for x in [0,1,2]:
    obj = bpy.data.objects["Torus"]
    obj_copy = obj.copy()
    obj_copy.data = obj_copy.data.copy()
    bpy.data.collections["Collection"].objects.link(obj_copy)