creating toroidal meshes/objects

I originally started a thread with this title in the forum models but have been asked to raise the topic here because it is more appropriate.
(Incidentally I tried to get the thread transferred but could not find an administrator!)

Here was the questions as originally put:

I am a complete beginner with Blender. I have gotten into it because I want to create quite a number of toroidal meshes & objects. I wonder if someone with experience could help me choose an appropriate method for creating them.

I think I can define what I want to do but have no idea how to go about it!! Here is my explanation. I want to:

1. Establish horizontal and vertical paths to define the central axis for building each toroidal mesh and object.

2 Define along the paths changing diameters for the toroidal object to be built around the central axis.

1. Define along the paths changes to lighting to be applied

2. It would be great if there were a way of doing this by creating a script - all ideas encouragement appreciated.

Subsequently I was asked for some more detail and added the following:

hank you for your helpful contribution.

Sorry I do not have a sketch but I will try and describe my target in a little more detail.

I feel you are pointing in the right direction for my purposes because the models do lend themselves to mathematical description. However when the model is fully described it needs to be converted into a reasonably fine mesh.

Toroidal object is, in their basic form can be described as a continuous circular tunnel - rather like a bagel (which is in reality not normally a circular but an elptical. The toroidal objects that I want to build are continuous solids or tunnels which maintain an open space around them! If you could get inside the “tunnel” there would be no way out. You can only go round and round within the continuous walls.