Critique on my first attempt on sculpting

Hi all

I am still a bit new to blender, but I have lately tried to put som effort into sculpting, and I have made my first serious try on a headbust. I wondered if you could give me your critique on this?

I have also tried to do a retopology on this thing, the old fashion way, just so I can get the basic on this. I followed some tutorials on this, of course, but I really feel I made a mess on this. Could you guys please tell me your opinion on this as well, and tell me how to do this better? :sweat_smile:

I greatly appreciate any comments on this :slight_smile:

No one to comment? I would particulary liked advice on how to do better topology. :slight_smile:

First thing, proportions are off, the face part is huge compared to the cranium. And the shape is too “blurry” and softened in all the wrong places, not enough attention for bone landmarks like cheekbones or eyebrow ridges. I recommend you to follow anatomy references as well as diagrams of the main planes of a face

Topology is passable I guess, except the strange poles around the eyes. Eyes should be surrounded by loops as well

I can’t give much help on sculpting but with the retopology, do small parts of evenly spaced and sized polygons and use the smooth vertices operation (ctrl+V menu) to help with smoothing out the topology.

Hi man. I am same as you only start to sculpt. I’ve heard that only practice can reach to higher level. I start with cartoons cause it can close eyes on a lot of mistakes.

By the way. I use addon for Ramesh named QUAD REMESH. Very useful. Can safe a lot of time. However quit expensive((((

Wish you luck

Yes, I clearly see your point. The cranium is deffinetily to small.

I was going for a young female face so I tried to keep the features smooth, but I probably went a bit too far here. Scared to go bold :slight_smile: