Critiques needed/ Still life with alarm clock

Hi there!:grinning:
I’m pretty new to Blender and this is the first render I decided to post publicly.
I would be happy to receive your critiques, guys.
I’m not fully satisfied with the result, but I don’t think I could do it somehow better at this stage. Thats why I would be glad to get some advice.

I’m mostly warried about lighting and texturing, it’s the hardest part for me.
I used a three-point lighting. Three planes with emission nodes, cold key light, warm fill light, and neutral back light. Maybe it’s not the best variant for a scene with shiny reflective objects?

I’m posting here a render which was adjusted in compositor and a neutral render.

(Jack) #2

The first thing that I noticed is that the wooden table just sort of ended and there is a black/grey background behind it. I don’t know if the table needs to be longer or if the “wall” needs some decoration or a brighter color? Second, the grain of the wood on the table is flat. Last is I get the feeling that this clock is near a window and the light coming from the right should be brighter, as if the sun is coming in during the morning. As you said, you can tell that the light is not quite right and I hope that I’m onto something about the window.

Otherwise, I’m very impressed by the textures of the metal, the right varnish on the pipe and the overall photo quality of the objects. I think you are going to make it exactly what you imagine!

(sundialsvc4) #3

The first thing I noticed is that _“yes, I can believe that this is a real clock and a real smoking pipe … not so sure about the pages of the book.” The still-life would reasonably be set in front of a dark velvet backdrop and on a tabletop that I surmise is formica.

The absence of shadow being cast by the legs seems a bit odd, although I know that this often occurs in real life with small, spindly objects. The texturing of the bell, vs. the body of the clock, is very nice.

In short, “very well done!”