Cruiser style ship

Hello all,

Firstly, I’ll just say that I’m quite new to blender, I’ve been using it for about 3 months. Today, just to see if i could do it, I started a spaceship model. I’m quite pleased with it so far, especially since I haven’t planned it at all, i just made it up as i went along.

So, one of the problems I’m having is UV unwrapping. I just can’t get a good unwrap at all, and if you guys could point me to a few texturing tutorials, either photoshop or blender, would be great. The second problem I’m having is that the ship doesn’t look like it is actually in space, and looks quite fake.

Here is my 3 renders.

Thanks in advance, look forward to feedback.

The ship looks pretty organic and smooth so unless you really want control over where the textures are placed you could just use “generated” instead of UV. I think that the reason that the ship looks fake is that the background is to low res and not scaled correctly. Also, The shadows on the ship should be darker if it really is in space since there are very few light sources.

Okay, thanks for that :wink:

Here is another version, I’ve changed the texture, lighting, background and changed the model a little bit. I also unwrapped using smart-UV, with mediocre results. The is a 1080p render with 1000 samples, 12 minutes on my gtx 660.

I personally think this is an improvement, but I’m not too sure. I’m going for a run down kinda look, old. And, tonight, I’ll be adding a huge portal in front of it.

Ship looks interesting, the background is still scaled wierdly. Stars are really really tiny!

The background is a HDR equirectangular image, and it probably looks weird due to DOF

The background really distracts my eyes when looking at the image. Tone it down because space is vast and light travels bor millions of light years from A to B so stars would no be that pronounced IMO .