Crystal, the cyborg.

Hello everyone :slight_smile: I’m new to Blender and new to this forum. I’m actually a communication design student (I mostly make brochures and print ads, some magazine layouts here and there) and I’m very interested in 3D modeling. Never got the guts to try it out before coz I heard it’s very heavy and since I’m working on a mac, not many people recommend me working with 3D. Until I heard this very lightweight software, Blender, I told myself, heck, why not :stuck_out_tongue:

So this is my very first character modelling (and rigging). I’m very helped out by Jonathan Williamson’s, Karan Shah’s, and David Ward’s tutorials at BlenderCookie and CGtuts; not to mention almost every character models over the Blendswap that really helped me out with topology and stuffs, coz being a communication designer, I’ve never had to deal with anything related to 3D.

Oh, holly’s & Sand3’s discussions about anime hair (I couldn’t link it for some reason, got denied) was very very very helpful with the hair, coz I’m starting to think that maybe I need more time before I can tackle the particle system. I spent like almost a whole day trying to get the particles right for the hair. So for now, I’ll stick to polygons hair ^^

So here she is, her name is Crystal. I made her heavily based on Vanessa Schneider of P.N.03. I didn’t really get all gaga over the details so you can see, she’s fairly a simple polygonic bionic woman :B oh and she was meant to be some sorta African-American girl, with some Asian heritage, sorta like Amerie.

Didn’t know how to use normal maps, so I kinda didn’t get to the suit details. I want to, but for now, I kinda want to leave her at that coz she’s getting really complicated and my head will burst if I ever touch her again (not in a dirty way, if you know what I mean o.o)