Curving a Rectangle by 90 Degrees

Hi All,
I have been coming to this forum for several years now. I finally joined a couple of days ago, so, I am not really new but this is my first post. Anyhow, on to the problem.
Imagine facing a rectangular frame on a horizontal plane. The goal is to bend the frame 90 degrees without causing distensia or distortion to its guts. At this time I don’t feel that the measurement of the radius is relavant however, in the event that it is, providing that my math is correct, the radius is 21 29/32" on the inside of the curve and 24 3/4" on the outside of the curve.
I have read through everything I can find in these forums and even tried hands-on with that information but, to no avail. I have tried to parent curves, build on curves, build with curves, and add curve modifyers all with terrible results. It is not something that can be extruded on a curve because there will be a design on the interior of the frame.
The only solution I have been able to come up with is to build the rectangular frame on the curve, then add the innerds. But, the problem with this is the lack is precisioned detail. Because of the lack of refernce points ( grid ), I subdivided the curved frame several times and then used the geometry of those vertices to apply my pattern. Sound like it worked? Not hardly. The reason is that when rendered, it looks like H3LL. Especially when you move it farther back for the camera. The details inside the frame are not too small because it is to scale with the rest of the piece. Upon this failure, I decided that it might be more practical to build the pattern inside a squared rectangular frame and then bend it to meet the curve. I have worked on this for several days and at this point am being counterproductive and decided it was time to ask for help.
All comments and suggestions are welcome.
Thanks for your time, Daniel