Custom Bone Object Size Problem

Hello,

Hope everyone is well. This is my first post on here so I wanted to say hello before I start.

I’m new to Blender and I have run into a problem with using a custom object to represent a bone. I have put the name of my object into the bone properties and the bone changes to the object I have selected but it is far too big. Its much bigger than the bone and the original model by about 50 times I would say.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Dan

Hey DanMarionette,

To change the scale/orientation of a bone shape object, you can scale/rotate the vertices of the shape object in edit mode.

Hi,
Thanks for your reply. I’m affraid I don’t understand what you mean. In edit mode it just resizes the bone itself.
Just to make it clear its not the bone i want to resize but just the,
“Object that defines custom draw type for this Bone”(tool tip)

Many Thanks
Dan

I meant resize the object itself… the one you created intially to define the shape. Not in the armature, separate from it. Select the object, tab into edit mode, and manipulate the verts to get the shape you want :slight_smile:

Yes I see what you mean now. I cleared the scale then scaled the verts in edit mode like you said. What puzzled me was that this is the second object I’ve used for a bone. The first seemed to adopt the size of the bone itself. I assume it doesn’t do this though.
Also I tried resizing the object in object mode with no luck. Edit mode did the trick though.

Thanks for your help

Dan

Yeah, the size of the bone itself will also effect the display size of the widget for that bone. You can think of the bone as being the local space for the display widget. The scale of the bone is determined by the distance between the head and the tail.