Cycles for animation

Hello,

I’ve been a hobbyist with blender for about the past year. I have no other experience with 3d software. Here is my noob issue/question. I’m happy with the modeling, texturing, lighting, etc. that I’m doing and have wanted to move forward with some animations. However, cycles takes so long to render on my computer that it seems there is no way I could ever produce an animation. My card isn’t terrible (550ti), but it’s not blazing fast. Not only that, but I’ve rendered some stuff on a render farm (a beta account at render.st) and the frames even take a long time there.

Let’s assume that I could get a frame render down to 3 minutes (unfortunately many of my frames take closer to 20 minutes). That is still 12 hours for a 10 second clip.

Since I don’t have much experience with BI (cycles came out shortly after I started), would BI be faster for animations? Is cycles unreasonable to use for animation for the hobbyist? Or, do people just suck it up and render animations over the course of a couple of months?

Thanks!

If your render per frame is 20 mins, look at reducing that time. Are you using too many samples, changing lighting can reduce time, have you turned off caustics, look at your materials, are they too complex, use render passes, use the compositor to post process rather than do everything in camera. Whatever your settings are, you can always reduce the render time even further.

BI may or may not be faster, it depends on the material settings you want to use.

I’ve taken really careful steps to reduce the time as much as possible. The 20 minute scenes are just really complex and I have a good idea of why they take so long. I’ve spent a lot of time reading about and learning why cycles takes a long time since I want to reduce the render time as much as possible.

But like I said, even getting down to 3-5 minutes a frame would still take a very long time to render something that is even 1 minute long.