Cycles materials and the arbitrary roller-coaster scales

(Péter Szilágyi) #1

Hey all,

I’m extremely new to Blender, and am coming from a very different background (software developer, peer-to-peer networking) than I assume most here. Nonetheless, I started working on a material library - or rather a material service - to allow anyone to upload/download Cycles materials. My rationale was that currently there seems to be a mess of material repositories all over, each trying to somehow encompass the entire 3D modelling ecosystem, getting over complicated and less than useful.

I figured that I have the knowledge to put the service part together, I can make it community driven and I can automate pretty much the entire workflow. For example, anyone could just dump a .blend file with a material in it and get automatic preview renders + a minimalist derived .blend file generated with all the junk thrown out.

Actually, my entire service is mostly ready, I just hit a very annoying limitation that I can’t for the life of me figure out. The goal of my service is to be simple: drop the .blend file, select the material, boom, done. The issue is that I have absolutely no idea how to figure out the correct physical scale that a material uses.

Most of the materials produced by various people on the internet seem to have a completely arbitrary scale (for example, the above Cherry uses a preview sphere with a diameter of 1.27 units and a scaling of 0.106, whaa?). Is this really the standard procedure in the Blender/Cycles community, to download a material and waste 5 minutes trying to correctly scale it to the local scene?

My ideal system would be able to say that “Hey, this material should be rendered on a 2cm preview sphere” or something like that. That would allow the creation of collections that are scaled correctly to one another (e.g. an architectural collection where a wooden flooring is proportional to a table cloth or a balcony railing).