Cycles (node) help,technical.

Hi guys,this is probably the wrong time to post this, as its almost Christmas and everyone will be offline (or not if you are a loser internet addict like me)

I wanted some technical help.I’ve been an animator (using maya) As an animator as was never really required to learn anything about rendering.

If anyone has seen Barteks compositing tutorials. You’ll know that he goes through some nodes,and explains what they do and why.This is extremely useful.

If your like me,you probably get sick of the “click here and click there,I don’t know what this is but it works” kind of tutorials.

I was hoping,and I know its a lot,if perhaps we could go through each node and explain the functions of each,or most of them,for absolute noobs who have no clue about technical terminology and as a result of that,find the wiki unhelpful .

I thought it would be a good resource.Anyone with a good knowledge base willing gradually help out the noobs here?

perhaps not nodes specifically,but the type of renderer/behaviour ,etc.

Sure, I’ll play along in getting to know the nodes. I’m a sort of semi-noob myself so I definitely could stand to learn more about them.
But there’s a lot of ground to cover, seeing as you use nodes to affect the materials as well.
Does this mean we should skip over the render layers and just discuss the actual functionality of each node in the compositor?
Or should we include the material nodes as well?

Another thing worth mentioning is that the Blender wiki does in fact provide a lot of information for the nodes…
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Composite_Nodes/Types

I think this is why most tutorials are problem-based, in that they describe one or two solutions to receive a predictable result.
I guess my question to you is, where do we start?

actually I was more referring material creation,rather than compositing nodes.